Knit-A-Longs (KAL)

Since I don’t have a local knitting group, I rely a bit on podcasts to keep me company if I knit during the day. And boy, there are a lot of podcasts out there! Some of my favorites are also doing knit-a-longs, some easier to join, and some with prizes!

These are the ones I either have going on or am about to start:

Actually Knitting (audio) is starting her Broadway KAL. She’s bundled a bunch of projects on her groups page to give people an idea of projects that would fit – but basically anything that reminds you of a stage production will count. I’ll be doing the Starlight Express Cowl. Not only is it a really beauty of cowl, it should fit nicely into my gift box (see below with the Down Cellar KAL), and it’s a production I’ve actually seen! My father took us in London while he was stationed there. Starlight Express might not have been my first choice, but it was pretty breathtaking.

Miss Kalendar’s Brass Needles (audio) is hosting Finishuary.I try not to let projects drag on too long (blankets not withstanding). But I did have one entry into this contest. My Thank You socks took longer than expected, meaning started before February.

susansocks (2).jpg

Junkyarn (video) is running a similar KAL, but these can be started and finished in February! So I double dipped my Thank You Socks. I’ve also finished a lovely hat for the gift box, and I should be done with my Gnome shortly.

Down Cellar Studios is doing a 12 gifts in 12 months KAL. This is right up my alley. I’d like to have a stash of hats to hand out, maybe a few fingerless gloves. So far I’ve done a Tamaguro hat, which I love.

Tamarugo

Finally, The Purl Bug’s 10,000 stitches podcast (video) is running sock KALs all year. I missed out on the first. But the next one should be cabled socks. I’d love to knit a pair of Owlie socks.

When everyone was making New Year’s resolutions/goals at the beginning of the year I sort of poo-pooed it and said I just knit what I want. Apparently what I want is to join as many knit-a-longs as I can!

 

Leave a Reply

