Twisted stitches bust my britches

I know I’ve mentioned this, but I knit in an Eastern European style. Which means I knit and purl through the back loop. Pretty sure I “unvented” it (Thanks, Elizabeth Zimmerman) based on the fact that I’d been crocheting since I was six.

Unfortunately for me, since I was mostly self taught, I didn’t have someone around to point out that my stockinette in the round looked different than my stockinette knit flat. It took close to two years for me to be able to look at my knitting to know what I was doing and sort out what the problem was (this was right at the start of Ravelry and I wasn’t much in to forums) and then to figure out how to wrap the yarn so that my stitches looked the same in the round as they did flat.

I loved each of these socks. But you can see the ridges on every pair, a very tell-tale sign of twisted rib. It’s especially obvious in the green sock pic as the camera sort of reverberates over the color.

Compared to these more recent socks. Smoother, more even stitches that lay flat.

Which is not to say that you never want twisted stitches. More and more designers are using them intentionally. I generally avoid them, even as a design element. But had to carefully work them in my Plicate hats by Hunter Hammerson.

Talk about a tough sell, I have to re-seat each stitch in order to get the proper ridge/twist that the designer is looking for (love this hat, btw, a favorite no matter how I do it).

Done intentionally a twisted stitch can be an attention grabbing design detail. Done unintentionally, particularly in fair isle, it makes your work look unprofessional and like you jumped into designing/selling before really knowing your craft because you haven’t been able to “read” your knitting well enough to know you are doing it wrong.

 

Leave a Reply

