Glasses for socks

People on ravelry often talk about what they’ll trade for knitting time. Often it is “if you’ll clean my house, I’ll knit you that sweater.” And that seems unbalanced to me. Unless someone really enjoys scrubbing houses, or perhaps enjoys handknit socks more than they dislike scrubbing houses. Because while knitting is a skill, it is also one a lot of us do happily. I always found it more, for lack of a better term, fair, to trade another craft/art/something someone enjoys doing. Like a painting, a sculpture, a well turned wood nostepinne or ceramic bowl.

Lucky for me, my girlfriend agreed. This time I didn’t trade for her artistic talents, she makes beautiful glass beads, but for her more well-traveled life. She was heading to Switzerland to visit family and I asked for Nutella in a decorative glass in exchange for a pair of socks. We have one such glass from when my sister & her husband did a big European tour and it is the prized drinking glass, the one every fights over. A glass, not even a handmade one, may seem like a small prize in comparison to the hours in a sock, but I figure the distance traveled made up for the discrepancy.

Unfortunately for me, Nutella is now using plastic jars. But my girlfriend rocked it and found, as she said, “a very Swiss” pattern on a pair of Dijon Mustard jars. Not only are the jars adorable, but the mustard is good, too! Now that’s what I call a fair trade.

Anyone else got some trade-able skills want a pair of handknit, custom socks or hat? For now the only ones for others on my docket are likely to be donated to the kids’ school.IMG_20160722_131211.jpg

One thought on “Glasses for socks

Leave a Reply

