Hello, BlogHer!!!

BH16_465x287_announcement

Today’s post is coming at you from the past! As of 5AM I am driving down to Los Angeles and the JW Marriot Live to attend the 2016 BlogHer Convention: Experts Among Us!

Hello, fellow bloggers, thanks for checking me out!

My name is Krista & I have been a crocheter since 6, a knitter since my late 20s, and have recently taken up some scroll sawing. I also occasionally pull out my sewing machine, fire up the oven, or look up fun ideas on pinterest.

I have two pugs and a chug who often appear in my photos for my different crafts.

Leroy, the male fawn pug, is my 13-1/2 year old “grumpy old man” and is the opposite of everything a pug should be. He’s anti-social, demanding, and independent. He’s my heart walking around in dog form.

George is my female black pug. She’s 8-1/2 and starting to slow down. But she is the original velcro pug. Sweet, docile, but going blind and stubborn as heck.

And we just added Maggie. She’s half pug/half chihuahua, all puppy. As of 3 months she is velcro like a pug, and does the “hearts shooting out of her eyes” at her people like a pug, but mostly looks like a short, black chihuahua. We adopted Maggie through Central Coast Pug Rescue this year after looking for a third pug for several years.

Most of my knitting is hats and socks and shawls as we live on the central coast of California and it’s not exactly winter here, ever.

I like my hats simple but interesting, my socks on double point needles, and my shawls long but thin (a glorified scarf). I prefer to work on fingering weight yarn except for children’s hats, which are generally worsted. I usually knit for myself or my loved ones, only occasionally taking on a request or commission.

I do, sometimes, work on sweaters and blankets. I’m still hashing out the fit of sweaters and prefer to crochet blankets as it goes faster.

& I like to talk about “knitting adjacent” activities like baking, wood, or sewing.

You can find me on Ravelry (if you do fiber craft and haven’t discovered Ravelry for forums and pattern database, you are in for a real treat!), Instagram, and Twitter as knitonepugtwo.

& if you’re a fan of stitch markers, or even just pins, I’m bringing some with me to give away!

IMG_20160713_131437

Maggie is modelling. The finished object is double sided on a little pin.

 

Leave a Reply

