Sewn In

After my 3 week sewing course where I had the objective to learn to sew with knits, which I did, and rocked it. Check out my sister  rockin’ the tunic top (dress if you aren’t 6′ tall) I made.

2016-07-29

I kicked it in to high gear. While I’m awaiting a serger to really finish off the garments as nicely as they could be, I’m pretty darn happy with my sewing-knits progress.IMG_20160728_103331

This is a selfie of my first, technically second, Appleton Dress from Cashmerette. On my first version, a simple black jersey, I cut out 2 left fronts and through in the towel as I didn’t have enough fabric to re-cut.

But I jumped right back on the horse and cut out this other fabric I’d bought on sale. From cutting to finishing this thing took one day! And that included getting out of the house for some errands, even.

If you’re curvy, and that can mean fat, big boobs, tall, or a million other things that fall into the “not standard” size, then this is a great pattern. I used the sew along tutorial as my instruction set, and it was awesome. It also meant I felt like I had built-in breaks and didn’t push myself beyond where I was comfortable.

Other than my standard Singer Featherweight I used a set of twin needles, which I broke right as I finished up the hem but before top stitching the neckline, and a ball point needle to sew the knits. I did most of the seams on a zig stitch. The cuts are unfinished on the interior, which bums me a little, but hopefully I’ll get a serger soon.

There are some fixes I need. Mostly in taking my time. The neckline pieces are not perfectly symmetrical. There’s some bunching on the shoulders. But I think a little more care on my part while cutting will help smooth those out for the next dress.

appletoncrop

Leave a Reply

