A Kool Way to Dye

Like a lot of sock knitters, I have the odd ball of bits and pieces left over. You wouldn’t think so considering I wear a US women’s 11, but I favor short socks. I love Monster Socks, basically mix up the colors any way you like. There are patterns written just to help you use up leftovers!

The Monster group I follow kept suggesting the LOSY  hat pattern. And I thought, why not!

img_20161209_130447

I wasn’t sure at first. But the white, pink, red, brown started to grow on me and reminded me of peppermint bark.

img_20161210_134910

But then I blocked it and it bled, of course. Bleh. It looked terrible

img_20161210_135007

So I bought 3 kool aid packets in Cherry, boiled up some water, and dunked the hat.

img_20161210_141216

It gently boiled away for a few minutes.

img_20161210_143720

And the resulting color was really gorgeous!

img_20161210_170750

Unfortunately the hat was made with superwash wool that was totally de-sproinged and the hat was HUGE. I’m trying to figure out what to do with the yarn.

Leave a Reply

