Sherlock Knits – A review

a1ts7zabhul

As a long time fan of Arthur Conan Doyle‘s Sherlock Holmes in its many different iterations, I was excited to hear about Sherlock Knits from Slate Falls Press!

Know who wasn’t? Maggie Chug & Georgie Pug. They mostly sleep through mysteries, book or television. Come to think of it, they like to sleep through my knitting, too. But having them in side-by-side beds is a bit of an accomplishment in their relationship.

IMG_20161223_100156.jpg

Back to the matter at hand, one of the first times I heard mention of Sherlock Knits was over on the Knitmore Girls podcast (always a good listen and honest reviews to boot!), who also happen to be big fans of Joanna Johnson. And I’ll admit, I, too, own Phoebe’s Sweater. So Joanna is known for good tales & sweet knits. When I saw the call on her Instagram to review a copy, I jumped at the opportunity.

The pattern collection, released just this month, features 10 patterns ranging from accessories to household items all the way to a full cardigan. It retails for $12.95 on Etsy or Amazon for the hard copy.

0024_medium2IMG_20161223_100213.jpgAnd, if like me, you prefer to buy single patterns instead of an entire book, each of the patterns can be purchased separately; including Mrs. Hudson’s Tea Cozy, which could be a good first steeking project for those worried about the technique (raises hand). The oranges keep reminding me of my tree out back, ready to burst; that’s a California winter.
0100_medium2.JPGMy current thought is to convince my sister that next year’s Holiday Hats should be a series of Deer Stalkers. Think she’ll buy in? The familiar, classic styling is knit in a worsted weight yarn for a relatively quick knit in one of the most unforgettable styles. I’m also working on my husband, but he’s not really a hat guy.

In addition to the patterns, there are excerpts from the Original Sherlock tomes as well as illustrations, which I understand are by Laurel Johnson, who I believe is Joanna’s daughter.

While there are no noveau fashions, the patterns all have a timeless, classic feel; something fun to knit and a good little book to hearken to a favorite classic in both literature and cinema.

B0108_medium2TW – Slate Falls is hosting a Knit-a-long for the Scotland Yard Vest featured in the book!  Houndstooth, oh my! (sorry, my review came too late for the pattern to be free. But the prizes look awesome.)

3 thoughts on “Sherlock Knits – A review

Leave a Reply

