Not a Food Blogger – Pepper sauce

For the holidays, my neighbor across the street brought my husband some Barbados / Bajan Pepper sauce. Her husband is originally from Barbados and since her “Mum,” her Mother in Law, was visiting, they decided to make up a batch since none of the local restaurants could supply any.

My husband dubbed it “mustardy pickle relish” and it languished in the fridge. A few weeks later I, non-spicy girl that I am, finally worked up the nerve to try it. And immediately sent my neighbor a text – THIS IS WHAT WAS MISSING FROM MY CULINARY LIFE!

Despite it’s name, and it’s star ingredient of habanero or Scotch bonnet peppers, this stuff is amazing. I convinced her to teach me how to make it since I went through her gift in a month on egg burritos, plain eggs, sandwiches, and the dog. No, not really, I’m not going to share this with the dog. Or eat her. Unless she remains stubborn about going out on the grass in the rain.

img_20170129_105935

Turns out the recipe is surprisingly easy and requires zero cooking. Mix up ingredients, my kind of prep! We used this recipe from Eat Like a Girl. Here’s the original ingredients:

225g hot scotch bonnet peppers, stems removed
225g peeled onions, coarsely chopped
110g peeled turmeric, diced
4 tbsp American style or mild mustard (prepared not oiwder)
240ml white flavourless vinegar, spirit vinegar would be ideal (again, available in Chinese shops but a flavourless white vinegar will do, just don’t use malt vinegar)
1 tbsp brown sugar

For our first take, we did it a bit more like this:

3 habaneros, stems & seeds removed

1 bell pepper
1/2 a peeled onion, coarsely chopped
1 finger of peeled fresh turmeric
4 tbsp American style or mild mustard (prepared not oiwder)
1 cup white flavourless vinegar + a couple splashes of apple cider vinegar
4 tbsp brown sugar

img_20170129_110712

It just all goes in the food processor and then you pull out tasting spoons and start adjusting it to YOUR preferred flavor profile.

So I did it again a month later. This time on my own.

img_20170225_114902

My sister’s husband loves peppers and had some Scotch Bonnets in his freezer. I’m scared of these. I washed them carefully to remove the seeds, wearing gloves, and sniffling and looking away as much as possible. This was about half of the original recipes called for amount.

img_20170225_114930

Here’s closer to the version of the recipe I did this time (this is the kind of recipe I love, where you substitute and change and the things still works).

100g hot scotch bonnet peppers, stems & seeds removed (I have a kitchen scale that doubles as a yarn scale so of course it has grams)
1 whole peeled onion, coarsely chopped (too much, I’d drop back to half next time)

5 baby bell peppers
1 finger peeled turmeric, diced (I would up this, but at nearly $9 a lb not too much. Though my one finger was about 50 cents)
4 tbsp American style or mild mustard (I used brown, it’s what we had in the fridge)
1 cup apple cider vinegar
4 tbsp brown sugar

img_20170225_121108

& I bought that adorable jar at Michael’s for $1. I want more. More jars, more pepper sauce.

While these start off REALLY spicy during the “test with a spoon” phase, they mellow super quickly. And while  you are using peppers, the heat is more wasabi and less Mexican spicy burn, you know? The heat hits you but then is gone vs. just sticking with you, forcing you to eat more chips and guacamole, or is that just me?

Leave a Reply

