Crafting with Kids

If you’ve been reading awhile, you know that I feel about crafting with kids a bit like I do about poetry (I think everyone should write poetry, I think no one should read poetry!). Crafting with kids is exhausting and you better plan ahead carefully for the skill level and, under no circumstances, have any expectations of your or the children’s work.

So of course I’m now the “craft mom” in my daughter’s first grade classroom. And boy, howdy! are there a range of skill levels amongst 6 & 7 year olds. But we’ve tackled spool knitting, sewing felt, and tomorrow we’re going to try sewing buttons.

IMG_20171018_095759

Major shout-out to the teachers of the world. I spend an hour a week with these kids and I lay awake the night before trying to plan for eventualities of what could happen while they craft. I can’t ever imagine doing it 8 hours a day 5 days a week. You all totally need a bucket button!

Leave a Reply

